Is it Possible to Twitter Too Much?

Color Email PileIs it possible to have too much of a good thing when it comes to social networking?  I think the answer is yes.

Case in point:  the twitterer who sends out too many tweets.  I’ll call him @twitterguy.

I found @twitterguy’s blog only a coupe of days ago and I loved his perspective.  He was positive and motivational, and he was writing wonderful articles on how to market yourself and build your business using social networking tools.  He was exactly the kind of person I wanted to contact online, so I looked him up on Twitter and started following him.

As it turns out, @twitterguy’s as prolific as he is motivational, sometimes sending out seven or eight tweets an hour.  (It’s really him, too, not some bot putting out messages on his behalf.)  It wasn’t long before there was no one in my Twitter timeline but him.

I could skip some of his messages and I could use tools like Tweetdeck to isolate him a little bit.  But after only a day or two I was overwhelmed so I unfollowed him.

The moral to the story is this: social networking is about balance.  You must give and receive.  You should share—but don’t share too much.  If you’re building your brand or promoting your business, be consistent and dependable, but don’t be a pest. When you get invited in, don’t overstay your welcome.

Comments are closed.